Celebrating Excellence in Hospitality

2023 Winners Announced ~ “Next Generation”

21st Lewisham Awards honours Tamaki Makaurau Neighbourhoods.

The Lewisham Foundation is thrilled to announce the winners of the 2023 Lewisham Awards,
celebrated on Sunday 4th June at Shed 10, Auckland CBD in a joyous, glimmering, black and white
event that shone a spotlight on the remarkable talent present in Auckland’s vibrant hospitality

Shannon Hafner of Kokako was awarded the L’affare Outstanding Barista award for her exceptional
skills in the craft of coffee making, while Taite Maltby from Deadshot took home the Hancocks
Outstanding Bartender award, recognized for his innovative mixology skills.

Cal Ross from The Parasol and Swing Company won the Insurance Advisernet Outstanding Front of
House award for his superb customer service skills and charismatic personality that enhances every
guest’s dining experience.

Mt Eden stalwart Cazador’s 2nd generation Chef patron Dariush Lolaiy was honoured as the Anchor Food Professionals Outstanding Chef, in recognition of his imaginative culinary creations that consistently delight Auckland’s food connoisseurs.

The Culley’s Emerging Hospitality Talent was awarded to Jasper Rae from Apero, showcasing the
bright future ahead for the Auckland hospitality scene, while Brittany Gillespie from Red & White
Cellar won the Fine Foods NZ Outstanding Sales Rep/Brand Ambassador for her exceptional
representation of her brand.

2023 Awards Committee Co-Chairs Chris Upton and Connie Clarkson highlight the changes in the
awards line up for 2023. “Our 21st edition of the Lewisham’s highlights Auckland’s neighbourhoods,
sustainability and innovation. It is clear, that neighbourhood eateries have come into their own in
recent times and we are grateful to Southern Hospitality, DB Breweries, OneMusic, Coca Cola
Europacific Partners for recognising the critical part they play across the motu. Together with the nod
to sustainability and innovation by Antipodes Water and Bepoz, and Culley’s support of Emerging
Talent, we hope to highlight the role hospitality plays in moving the dial on climate change and the
next generation in Tamaki Makaurau.”

Fantail & Turtle (Takapuna), Hallertau Clevedon (Clevedon), The Kohi Beach Eatery (Kohimarama), Et
Tu Bistro (Te Atatu) and Prego (Ponsonby) were winners on the night in a joint industry and public

Ben Bayly’s Ahi walked away with both Innovation and Sustainability gongs.

See below the full list of winners for the 2023 Lewisham Awards on poster below.
Congratulations to all the winners for their exceptional service to Auckland’s hospitality sector. TheLewisham Awards are proud to highlight these businesses and individuals who continue to raise the bar in our industry, providing memorable experiences for residents and visitors alike.

Download Winners Poster here: Lewisham Winners PDF (1) (1)

About the Lewisham Awards:
In its 21st year, The Lewisham Awards, named in memory of Richard Lewisham, a pioneer of
Auckland’s hospitality scene, are annually held to acknowledge and reward excellence across various
sectors within the industry. Complete details about the event and winners can be found at

*The Lewisham awards are nominated and voted by exclusively by hospitality. For the first
time, the neighbourhood categories only (North, South, East, West and Central) were
extended to a public vote in recognition of the important part they play in how Aucklanders
eat, work and play in the neighbourhoods they live in.

Stay up to date and follow us on Facebook and Instagram to stay updated
Thank you to our 2023 Lewisham Award Sponsors!
Scroll to Top